Patience

I find that it takes quite some time to recharge my patience meter.

English: A vintage ampere meter. Français : Un...

English: A vintage ampere meter. Français : Un Ampèremètre à l’ancienne. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I work in a place where I deal with the general public. I also happen to work with people who are opinionated and we don’t always share the same opinions. These two facts tend to result in some frustrating days for me.

I’m a generally affable and patient person. I really prefer to go with the flow more often than not. The trouble I run into, like many things in my life, is that my patience has a very large inertia.

It can sometime take a great deal to wear my patience thin. Once I’m frustrated, it can take an even longer time to get me back to even again. That is not a good combination most days.

It’s especially bad when I get busy with work and home things all at the same time. I never get a chance to get that patience reservoir refilled. When I’m constantly running on empty, every little thing sets me off. Which causes me to overreact, obviously.

I’m not actually frustrated at the moment. It was just something that had been floating around in my head. I’ve been working on finding stress reducers and finding time to get away for a little bit to leave everything in the rearview mirror long enough to get right again. I have found that getting away from my everyday surroundings makes a big difference for me.

I’m off to find one of those stress relieving activities as we speak!

Enhanced by Zemanta

5 thoughts on “Patience

  1. Martial arts, or exercise in general. Cardio/aerobic exercise causes the release of endorphins and other “feel good” hormones 🙂 Listening to calming music and/or just being by yourself to read works for me, too 🙂

  2. I’m right there with you, sunshine. I can always just blame my stuff on hormones, though. I find myself repeating one mantra or another when I’m in a particularly rough patch, and, it helps. The mantra is generally something like, “if it’s not affecting you directly, don’t get ticked…. if it’s not affecting you directly….” Over and over. I actually coach myself with this pep talk on my way to work… to prepare myself. Haha. And getting away is a good solution, if you can. x

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?