Divination

Do you ever wish that you could know the future?

I was talking with a friend the other day, and we were discussing the nature of divination. Is it possible to know the future? How would that happen? Would you even want to?

My personal feelings about it happened to be that I wish I had an oracle or cards I could ask about the nature of choices I make. I wasn’t as worried about detailed answers about the exact trajectory of my life. I just wanted to remove some of the uncertainty from decisions I make. That kind of uncertainty that frequently keeps me from making any decision, or worrying incessantly about ones I’ve made or am making.

I believe in a loose version of Destiny or Fate. I think that generally, things happen for a reason. I don’t think we’re all part of some intricately detailed, finely mapped out plan. I don’t believe that we’re all tiny cogs in one enormous machine, clicking and whirring together in perfect precision.

I think we’re more like an ever evolving sculpture. Decisions are made, things happen and there is intent behind them. They may not result in what we were hoping for. Further changes are necessary. I think all events are intertwined, but exactly how is a mystery to us all.

Magic 8 Ball

Magic 8 Ball (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What I would really like is to be able to ask questions like ‘If I buy this car, will it financially hamper me for the next few years? Or will things work out just fine?’ The answer could be simply, ‘Now isn’t the best time for that purchase.’ I would be content with that. Almost like a ‘Magic 8 Ball’ that was actually prescient.

That’s the kind of divination I would be really interested in. There’s much fear in the uncertainty of life. For some of us, that fear can be crippling to the point of physical pain. Some of us are so concerned about making the wrong choice that every decision becomes rife with pitfalls, and any choice is a bad choice.

Of course, I’m a big fan of magic and wouldn’t really object to full-fledged seers either.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Divination

    • Well, any sort of non-specific future-telling device would work. The thing is, most people want very specific answers to general questions. For example: Will I be rich? They want a specific answer about how and when that might come to pass. I am interested in more general answers to more specific questions.

      • Hmm. So in other words, you want a scryer, not a seer or a diviner, because you don’t want the answer to what will happen, but rather how things will look if you take a certain path.

      • Exactly! I guess I feel like that would be enough information. Also, if this sort of thing were obtainable, it would also be easier to do properly. I feel like I would have more luck finding someone/something capable of scrying well, than I would finding one of the others.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

