Ski Trip!

Well, I was going to post this yesterday, until I got sleepy. So you get it today instead!

English: Snowboarding in New Brunswick, Canada

English: Snowboarding in New Brunswick, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This last weekend was my second time going on an annual ski trip. The trip has been going on for a fair number of years, but The Wife and I have only gone twice now. It has been a blast both times.

I’m not really a ‘do-er’. I tend to be more comfortable wearing a divot in the couch than I am getting out and doing things. I’m ok with this most of the time. I enjoy staying comfy and cozy indoors, so I see no trouble with this. It occasionally becomes a point of contention with The Wife.

She likes to do stuff. She likes to see what’s happening, to be involved and to get up and go. She likes to do things with other people and generally have a good time. Sometimes me being a sofa spud can get frustrating. I think it’s a good thing that we both really enjoy skiing/snowboarding.

That said, she enjoys the skiing, and I prefer the snowboarding. I believe I have mentioned it before, but I have a pre-existing medical condition with my left hip. Skiing contains the potential for my two legs to end up going different directions, and I suspect that would end worse for me than for some others. I chose snowboarding, where my two feet are stuck to the same object.

We went last year, and while we were there we took a group lesson. We didn’t get to spend a lot of time out and about practicing last year, partly because day 2 was very icy. We started this year on our own, and quickly found that we needed more guidance. We went ahead an got private lessons.

It ended up outstanding. We both picked up enough of the basics in our lessons to feel comfortable going out on our own. We went out for a few hours each day on Saturday and Sunday. We came home on Monday.

It’s a great little break in the middle of our winter. It’s a mini-vacation! I’m really looking forward to next year already, and maybe we’ll even get to go someplace nearby and get some practice in.

We may also have to look into getting our own equipment. If we keep going, renting will get expensive soon!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

