The Wall

I totally hit a wall today.

Wall

Wall (Photo credit: zebble)

I mean metaphorically. Though, if you know me well enough, hitting a wall literally, really doesn’t seem implausible. I digress.

We had an upgrade to the software we use at work today. I was the on site tech, and I was responsible for working with the remote specialized tech. I was there to answer any specific questions about our systems and set up, as well as be the other person’s eyes and ears. I also logged them into our stuff remotely.

The original time estimate for the series of operations that they were performing today was 6 hours. We were supposed to be out of commission from 8 this morning, until 2 this afternoon. We were actually up and running before 12 noon.

This was a really good thing. We beat our estimated time by a full 2 hours. That’s 2 extra hours that we weren’t planning to have access to our systems. It did leave me with a small dilemma. I didn’t plan on having time to do anything worthwhile today at work.

I was planning on being occupied for the full 6 hours, with possible stops for troubleshooting along the way. I figured that even if we got done right on time, that my day would be pretty much shot. I was half right.

After all the IT work was done, I just kind of drifted around aimlessly. I still did things while I was at work, but I didn’t have a lot of self-starting motivation. I just kind of waited around until someone needed me for something. I kind of hit a wall.

O h well, there’s always tomorrow

2 thoughts on “The Wall

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

