Asking for help

I think I might need to find a mentor.

I’ve always felt that being completely honest with yourself is for the best. That means accepting idiosyncrasies and weaknesses that you posses and working to deal with or correct them. I think that one of those things for me, is that I need a mentor. Some sort of a life coach.

I know, that sounds bad. It kind of sounds like I’m completely lost and I can’t get through my day. In reality, what it means about me is that I am at my best when I’ve got someone there to be my partner. Batman & Robin, but less hero/sidekick. More an equal team. Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.

Sherlock Holmes in "The Adventure of the ...

Sherlock Holmes in “The Adventure of the Empty House.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I tend to think out loud when I have ideas. This works best when I have someone who knows me and how I think to listen and reciprocate. I tend to over think things, and t is good for me to have someone to keep me in check. I also tend to be overzealous sometimes and having a counterpoint to that is sometimes beneficial. All in all, I think I work best as part of a pair.

I also frequently am looking for guidance. I look for someone who can really identify things about me that I am unable or unwilling to see in myself. I need that person to work with me and be my other person.

I have great friends and family members, and sometimes they do these things for me. I sometimes have a partner in crime, and I also can have people to go to that have more life experience than I do. The trouble is, sometimes they’re too close to me.

They’re involved in the decisions I’m making. I need an unbiased observer. I think it would help me to get a different perspective on some things. That’s why I said I could use a mentor or life coach type of person.

I know that isn’t the sort of thing that I can just go looking for in the classifieds. It isn’t something I can just go pick up at the store. I understand that. I was just noticing something about me and thought I would share.

After all, isn’t that why we’re here?

12 thoughts on “Asking for help

  1. The idea of a “life coach” or something similar is very foreign to me because I guess in England people don’t do that kind of thing at all. What do they do, exactly? If, as you say, they’re a kind of “impartial observer” and offer a different perspective on the things you do, then I guess that could be quite cool. But if they’re someone who tells you what your strengths/weaknesses are then that seems a bit weird to me. I kind of believe that the idea of living and growing older is to gradually “discover” yourself, if you know what I mean. To me, having someone TELL me who I am would defeat the object of living and finding out who you are by yourself. But obviously that might not even be what a life coach is and you might want one for a completely different reason.
    You should do whatever you want to do, if it’ll make you happier ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I was thinking more along the lines of kind of forcing you to deal with things maybe you’re avoiding, or notice things you hadn’t noticed about yourself.
      Someone who is able to work with you to get you in the right place or frame of mind without so much telling you what to do or where to go.
      Sometimes it helps to have an alternate perspective because it can be easy to lose sight of the bigger picture.

      • That sounds like a good idea ๐Ÿ™‚ is The Wife “too close” to you, as you put it, to offer that kind of alternative perspective? Or do you think someone else might be able to do it as well as The Wife? (Like, at the same time)

      • She’s a help for sure. She’s more responsible and level-headed than I am. The caveat being, we’ve been together for almost 10 years now, if you include dating and engagement. So we’ve been through a lot together, and it can be hard to take a step back. Especially since every decision or change would involve her to a large degree.
        When we discuss things, we see lots of things as a ‘we’ and sometimes when you’re trying to get tot the core of certain things it helps to see the individual.

  2. Hi there! As a life coach myself, I don’t think that there is anything wrong with asking for help! In fact, when you get to the point where you can ask for help, that is the point where you should look at coaching to help get yourself on the right track — so good for you for knowing that is the right step for you to take!

    I would be happy to offer you a free coaching session to see if coaching is really what you are looking for. I invite you to check out my website (http://jeslacasse.com/what-is-life-design/), & if you are interested, please contact me & I would be happy to set an appointment with you.

    Regardless, best of luck in your search for that accountability partner!

    Cheers,
    Jes

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

