I Told You

No one really likes being told what to do.

That is, in fact, one of my least favorite things. I do not like my every move being dictated to me. I don’t like having no choice in what I will be doing.

I can say, that there is some comfort in knowing exactly what you need to do. Knowing what you need to do, and being left to get it done has a certain charm to it. That why I sometimes miss the warehouse.

Warehouse, Green Logistics Co., Kotka, Finland

Warehouse, Green Logistics Co., Kotka, Finland (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I worked in an auto parts warehouse for a summer. It was hard work. Lots of lifting and carrying and moving. There were expectations about how much you were supposed to get done. It could be boring at times. At the end of the day, though, I walked in to work every day with a start time, an end time and a clear set of goals for the day. There’s something to be said for that.

I didn’t mind not having a lot of autonomy. It could have been almost relaxing. I didn’t realize it at the time, because I was a 19 year old working a summer job, but there was something to be said for that kind of work. I sometimes wonder if working in a warehouse or factory again would suit me.

I don’t like feeling like I have no control though. Feeling like I have no choice in what happens now or later is exceptionally frustrating. Sometimes the silence of those auto parts would be a welcome sound.

 

4 thoughts on “I Told You

  1. With you on this one. I like knowing what to do, but geez, could you give me some space to actually do it?
    It’s that much worse when the play-by-play instructions are wrong. Because then you can’t even do your job right.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

