Modern Day Geniuses

Macklemore- The Heist Tour Toronto Nov 28

Macklemore- The Heist Tour Toronto Nov 28 (Photo credit: thecomeupshow)

They’re everywhere.

With the amount of information all around us everyday, we shouldn’t be surprised that there are more geniuses than ever around. They are good at many different things. They come in every shape and size. You never know when you might encounter one.

I posted before about Macklemore. I know hip hop isn’t for everyone, but stick with me. I really got drawn in to Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’s album ‘The Heist‘. I heard ‘Thrift Shop‘ a little later than most people, but that groove just got me moving. Then I listened to the whole album.

I was completely blown away. This album was bursting with beautiful melodies, transcendent vocals, deep beats, real stories and touching personal confessions. Every song was outstanding. I felt like this was an album that would just keep growing.

Today, I read this post on Macklemore’s website. It’s the story of the album from release to today. Reading this only further convinced me that Macklemore and Ryan Lewis are geniuses. They’re geniuses because they’re clearly incredibly musically talented. More importantly, they’re geniuses because they figured out the greatest secret about being a true artist: You are unique. You have a special voice. You will only truly be the artist you were meant to be when you speak/do/create exactly what is inside you.

That’s the real secret. The only way to be that incredible kind of artist, is to be completely authentic. Be open and honest, and put all of yourself into what you create. That’s the only way to be the genius you were meant to be.

I know that Macklemore doesn’t need any publicity from me, but after reading his post today I thought more people needed to see what he’s about. I thought as many people as possible needed to pair the incredible album with the incredible artist. I just thought I would do my part in my little corner to share.

6 thoughts on “Modern Day Geniuses

  1. Pingback: | Where Have All the Geniuses Gone? | | truthaholics

  2. Pingback: Feeling a Little Like Macklemore | Faith Simone

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

