Escape

It’s spelled just like escape. Es cop ay…

Books, movies, stories, and video games all transport us somewhere. We all have certain ones we enjoy, and we all enjoy certain types. Our reasons are different and they are the same. Escape.

Whether it’s escape from the sadness and frustration of the everyday, or whether it’s just the only place you can be yourself. We all like to escape sometimes.

I feel out of place almost everywhere. There’s a lot of different reasons, but the important part is that I’m always  just a little off. Stories of all type let me have a place to be.

Sometimes I just get involved in those people’s world. Sometimes that’s enough. Other times I want to be involved and play a part in the story. That’s when I like to play games.

Never do I feel as at home as I do when reading a fantasy story. One of the great epics like “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy. The world is so alive and vibrant and I can’t help but be spellbound. That’s where I feel at home. When I’m spellbound by the tales of wonder and bravery.

Tolkien's Cover Designs for the First Edition ...

Tolkien’s Cover Designs for the First Edition of The Lord of the Rings (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not scared to admit that I wish I were as strong as they are. I wish I were as upright and brave. I wish I were as steadfast, honorable and daring.

Most days I’m just a person. Moving through this modern world trying to keep from failing. People are built to push and strive, not avoid consequences. It’s a sad reality that these days, there are no great quests. Just trips to the coffee shop and saving money for a retirement that may never come.

One day I hope to have a real adventure. Maybe it will be when I’m Eleventy-One. Maybe it will be tomorrow. All I can do is wake up, get ready for the day, and open my door to the world.

8 thoughts on “Escape

  1. I think there are adventures and quests to be had amid everyday life if you know where to look. Not every adventure has to start with spontaneously buying a plane ticket. Although that certainly doesn’t hurt… 😉

    • There definitely are. I think I sometimes live the way I read: I gloss over little things to get to the good parts. That’s probably not the best way, but it’s the habit that I’m in.

  2. I think our world is just different- our quests are more feats of the soul than of the body. Less epic, but not any easier. Trying to be a good person, helping others when it’s inconvenient for you, standing up for what you believe are all quests that we partake in almost daily.
    But it’s not as cool as destroying an evil ring. Darn. Hope you find an adventure worthy of you^^

  3. Yeah, escapism. Doesn’t everybody need that? Isn’t that the reason books, movies and everything lese exists?
    (Sort of.)
    I haven’t read the LOTR books, but of course I liked the movies a whole lot. And it’s really good material to start your own fantasy world. I like it when you can build your own world and create your own stories and the boring daily life seems to fade away :).

    • The books are great, but are long and can take a while to get through the first time. The movies are excellent.
      Sometimes the fantasy worlds can seem more real than ours. Everything makes sense in a fantasy world. Good vs evil, heroes and villains. They can be wonderful places.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

