Uncle Ben was right

‘With great power comes great responsibility.’

Spider-Man

Spider-Man (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m wiped out. We got an upgrade to the computers and software at work. I am exceptionally familiar with the specifics of how the system we use works. I’m not really an IT guy, but I know enough to get by, so I tend to be the free, IT stand in unless it’s a BIG problem.

The upgrade to our stuff caused us to basically lose all of our previous settings. We knew this might happen. That doesn’t mean that it isn’t a difficult spot to be in.

The computers were down for a couple of days while the upgrades happened, and now we’re trying to get everything reset. We’re also trying to catch up on all the work we couldn’t do while things were down.

It’s just a tedious process. Identifying a setting that needs changed, changing it for every one and still forgetting about someone. We’ll get there though. I’m on the job!

I’m actually not trying to complain. I’m not unhappy with the work I’m doing fixing these things. I’m just stretched thin and tired is all. It isn’t really a bad tired though. Kind of like the mental version of when people say they feel ‘good tired’ after working out. I may be wiped out, but I’ve accomplished a lot and that’s exciting.

Well, I’m off to get some rest so I can make another strong push tomorrow. Bye!

4 thoughts on “Uncle Ben was right

  1. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – you go, girl!
    I find getting new software (or new computers for that matter) very exciting and it’s very nerdy of me. I’m the computer “expert” in our house, even though my Mum works with computers for a living. Although, I admit it can be annoying when EVERYTHING’S changed and you have to get to grips with everything.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

