Down the Rabbit Hole

Time for another edition of “Let’s pretend Chris’s thought process makes sense!” Follow along!

I’ve been very subtly music-centric for the last few weeks. I had been noticing it, but I hadn’t quite been able to put my finger one what it was I was perceiving. I’ve been very specific about my music and what I want to hear for the last little bit. I talked about my sudden desire to listen to metal recently. This actually led to the discovery of quite a few new bands.

In the Power Metal Genre, I found Blind Guardian, HammerFall, and DragonForce to name a few. A friend of mine who is much more in tune with the Metal and Hard Rock genres also suggested some Alternative Metal bands like Flyleaf and Halestorm. I have to say Metal with a Lady lead singer is probably one of my favorite new playlists. He also suggested some Progressive Metal like Dream Theater, which got me listening to Elven King and Nightwish.

Anyway, since then, I’ve been very specific when choosing what to listen to. This isn’t particularly unusual, but it did lend itself to an interesting series of thoughts, and I’m going to bring oyu along with me while I walk through them.

I was watching an episode of the television show The Voice. One of the singers was a Jamaican woman who used to sing back up for Jimmy Cliff. After hearing her audition, I got to thinking about Reggae music. I really wanted to make that my next musical selection when I got the chance.

Today at work, I didn’t have time to make a whole new playlist, so I went with a Pandora station base on Halestorm. I never got a chance to really listen, as I was running around all day at work. I went to the grocery store and came home. I watched some television with The Wife. I then came in the office to write today’s blog post!

No ideas. None. I was amped to write, but I just didn’t have anything to spark the flow. Out of desperation I decided to maybe just do a sort of ‘Monday Music’ post. I figured I would just find a song and link it and then write about why I liked it or something. Very generic, and not really the kind of writing that gets the thoughts and emotions out.

So I started going through my iTunes library on shuffle trying to find a song that spoke to me enough to write about it. I landed on a Smashing Pumpkins song. I hesitated on that song, which caused me to see the song a few lines down, which was ‘Bullet With Butterfly Wings’ which I love. so I put that song on, cranked the volume and put on my headphones. Something about the drum beats and Bill Corgan’s voice just got my brain going. That’s when I decided that I should just listen to some Smashing Pumpkins and explain how I got to this point.

I would also like to point out that my brain made a connection between the drums at the beginning of the song and Reggae music.

One thought on “Down the Rabbit Hole

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

