Who DOESN’T love animals?

Know what I’m a fan of? Anthropomorphised cartoon animals.

I’m really not sure what made me think of it, but I really do have a soft spot for pretty much any cartoon animal with human characteristics. I qould think that Disney movies may have a small part to play here, not to mention all of the 90’s cartoons that I used to watch.

It all really started with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. By far my favorite group of violent reptiles. I’m aware that the original versions of these rapscallions were from the comic book. I also know that they are very different from their mainstream, cartoon format. Different still in their two excellent live action movies, and one horrid attempt at a third live action movie. My favorites are definitely the cartoon version, with the live action ones following closely behind.

Box art of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Box art of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s just something awesome about human-sized turtles that talk like they’re from California and know martial arts. You’ll never convince me otherwise. The cartoon version was really made to sell merchandise, and I can say that it worked. Brilliantly I  might add. I didn’t even mind spending money. Well, making my parents spend money anyway.

Next in line would be the Disney cartoon movies with all their talking animals. These movies formed a foundation in my child hood that had me expecting every creature to be my future best friend or adviser. It didn’t happen that way.

There were definitely a lot of Disney licensed cartoon television series that I enjoyed as well. Darkwing Duck, and Chip and Dale’s Rescue Rangers being among my favorites. Oh! can’t forget Talespin either. And Duck Tales! Ah fond memories of youth.

As I got older, I had an Aunt introduce me to Calvin and Hobbes. As a young adult I really latched on to the idea of a boy and his live tiger companion. It only made Hobbes that much better that the grown ups couldn’t see what he truly was. I always wanted a tiger.

After a while, I began to appreciate some of the more complex themes of Calvin and Hobbes. Never has there been such a beautifully written and drawn comic strip with such gravitas. I never stopped wanting my own Hobbes though.

 

4 thoughts on “Who DOESN’T love animals?

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?