Why doesn’t my body listen to my Brain?

It’s like they don’t bother communicating.

I’m tired. Both my brain and my body seem to notice that I could use some rest. Being that I pretend to be a responsible adult, I could decide to go to bed early tonight. The thought would be that if I go to bed an hour and a half early, I would get an extra hour and a half of sleep. I couldn’t be more wrong.

My typical sleep schedule is from 12 am – 7:15 am. Not great, but not a terrible amount of sleep either. Sometimes I get tired earlier than that and think I should go to bed early. This almost always results in waking up every 40 minutes starting at 5 am. I have no idea why. So far the earliest I’m able to go to bed with no ill effects is about 15 minutes early.

This makes no sense to me. I should be able to go to bed early and get extra sleep. This would result in a clear mind and refreshed body for tomorrow. It just isn’t the case. That’s exceptionally frustrating. I know I could get more sleep on a nightly basis, but at least let me get extra when I need it.

It’s just like my body is insistent that I can’t sleep more than a set amount of time, no matter how inconvenient the outcome.

This is why I need naps.

2 kittens taking a nap

2 kittens taking a nap (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 thoughts on “Why doesn’t my body listen to my Brain?

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

