Observation

My super-skills seem to have diminished.

SuperHeroes

SuperHeroes (Photo credit: Sugar Daze)

I’m not being as observant as I usually am. I don’t have super strong hearing, smell, or sight. In fact, some people would say that those skills are a little sub-par. I am usually very observant. I pick up on context clues and tonal qualities that some people can miss. I’m usually very good at reading people and situations.

Recently, I think I may be slacking off a little bit. I’m not quite as sharp as I used to be. Once you realize this, you kind of feel like you’ve been wearing blinders and earmuffs.

I generally like to be completely aware of my surroundings. I’m not sure if it’s leftover hunter/gatherer instincts or what. Knowing that I haven’t been as completely aware recently leaves me with a feeling of vulnerability.

Even when I don’t have any use for all that situational information, I like feeling like I know everything that I need to about where I am and what I’m doing. Maybe that’s why I’m more uncomfortable when I don’t know what the plan is when going places. I like to be completely informed.

Eh, I might just have to give myself some practice at being hyper-observant again. It’s nice knowing so much about the circumstances one find’s oneself in.

12 thoughts on “Observation

  1. My husband is a lot like that and will also feel vulnerable when, for whatever reason, he starts to “miss” things/signs/oddities. It usually comes back in a couple of days, so maybe it’s just your brain giving you a break! 🙂

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

