Creative Slump

I’m in a bit of a creative slump.

English: Modeling a volcano in Blender 3D.

English: Modeling a volcano in Blender 3D. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I haven’t had anything I’ve really been excited about working on in quite some time. Nothing has really been jumping out at me as anything that needs said/drawn/created. That tends to make me a little sad.

I kinda get in a funk about stuff. When I don’t have that interest in something or that drive to create, I feel like a sad kid sitting at the dinner table, staring at a plate full of vegetables.

Brain: It’s okay, I know you aren’t really hungry, but try your vegetables. I even cooked them with butter this time.

Non-Creative Self: I could I guess.(pokes at peas with fork. Rolls one from left to right and back again) I don’t really want them. Or anything else. I guess I’ll just sit here a while longer

Brain: Do you want me to make you other food?

Self: Don’t bother, I probably just won’t want to eat that either.

 

Okay, so the food analogy didn’t really work. Let’s just try again with creative stuff.

Brain: You maybe want to draw tonight?

Self: No. Not really. I don’t know what to draw. Besides, I’m not really that good a t drawing.

Brain: Okay, that’s cool. What about Photoshop? Or Blender! We could do some 3D modeling! That’s fun you like that!

Self: I guess. I need to relearn all the controls though. That would make the fun have to wait a while.

Brain: Um, alright. What about writing? Want to work on a story?

Self: Not really. I think I’ll just sit here and stare at the TV.

Brain: Are you sure? You usually don’t like to do that all the time.

Self: I guess I’m sure. I don’t know. I don’t care.

 

Yes these are things that happen inside my head. It just makes it more aggravating when I go to write a post here as well, because I know I’ll enjoy writing it, if I can just get moving on it.

Maybe I need to pick one thing, and make myself do that for a little bit everyday too. It’s been working really well for the writing, just not giving myself an option, and knowing that the act of writing is the reward at the moment. Now the question becomes: What do I focus on? What do I get the most personal satisfaction out of just doing?

I know these aren’t things I expect you guys to know. I’m not pushing the onus for answers on you guys. I get my best answers by thinking out loud, so I’m just kind of putting this all out there. Opinions are appreciated though.

5 thoughts on “Creative Slump

  1. Pingback: Brains are Weird | Inkling of Asylum

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

