Crikey! The inkling in its natural habitat

Being as we’re celebrating Labor Day here in the USA, I am off work. Which means that my writing today is occurring from home, as opposed to work.

I would like to point out that even though it’s a holiday, I did NOT take today off. I’m just making you all aware.

I actually prefer writing at home. The trouble is, I don’t like to wait until the evening, and I’m not awake enough to get coherent thought onto the virtual page before I leave. I know, I could write something and then schedule it, but I typically don’t think my posts out that far in advance. So what you usually get is me writing not from home.

I’m not sure where I write is particularly important. I know I write better when I get a chance to sit down, get comfy and just dive in. I don’t get as much of an opportunity to get completely comfy as I would like. I suppose I’m not alone in that.

Traditional pajamas for sleeping.

Traditional pajamas for sleeping. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve written posts on my phone before. I’ve written on my tablet before as well. Nothing really beats being fresh to the day with a cup of brain-stimulating tea, and pajamas for writing. For me, anyway. I suspect this also means that if I ever plan on writing anything longer than short stories or blog posts, I’m going to have to find some sort of freelance type of job. If I write best in my jammies, I’m going to need more time in my jammies. I strongly suspect I’d have to be retired, or independently wealthy for that to be an option.

Such is life. I think you’ll notice that I’m posting this rather late in the day as compared to the previously mentioned scenario. I did not do that today. I also am not still in my robe and slippers. I did get up and move about today. Washed dishes, went to the grocery store. I was not a total lump.

Tomorrow it’s back to work, albeit a short week. I missed the worst day, Monday and hopefully the post-weekend funk will not carry into Tuesday. I do have a post I’m considering, so I think I’ll dive into that tomorrow morning. Until then, I bid you Adieu.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

