Pop Culture Craving

I’m seriously craving a few things.

Crave

Crave (Photo credit: thebittenword.com)

Most of the time, the term ‘craving’ deals with food. Not always, but that is where you will hear it used most frequently. I get the occasional food craving, but the majority of my cravings have to do with pop culture or activities. This is weird, I know, but stay with me.

Right now I’ve got several cravings vying for my attention. I want to do some more 3-d modeling(the computer generated image kind),  I want to try playing guitar again, I’ve got 3 or 4 shows on Netflix I want to finish, I’ve also got 2 series of books I want to re-read, and some old Stephen King I want to re-read or read for the first time. I want to watch horror movies that I know I’ll regret watching.

I’m pretending to be an adult. I have a job that is officially 41 hours a week, that I occasionally have to fill in more hours for. I own a home with The Lovely Wife, and all the responsibilities contained therewith. I’m not busier than anyone else, but I’m not really swimming in free time. I don’t have enough time to satisfy all these cravings. I certainly don’t have the time if I continue to do all my everyday things in lieu of picking one of those things up.

I know that I’m over thinking it, I always do that. I’m worried about getting part way through something and then either losing focus or getting too busy. I’m trying to finish other shows or books or video games before I start something new. IT all boils down to the fact that I want to absorb too much information and I don’t have enough time to do it!

I think I need to start planning a vacation. I know you’re thinking it. I’ll go ahead and say it, “But you just went on a vacation!” I did. I’m beginning to think I need to plan several small vacations every year just for getting some of my crazy cravings out of my system. I’m serious. I think maybe I should take a week off every 3 or 4 months, and just binge on information. Spend a week living in the dark and just doing whatever I want 24 hours a day with no responsibilities or schedule. I strongly suspect this is implausible.

I think that may be my natural state of being. I am a creature of whim and impulse. I have strong desires to do things and I’m not always sure where they come from or there intended result. I naturally thrive in a system of ordered chaos. I tend to operate naturally in a place where I am isolated but able to reach out. Where no one expects anything of me and I am able to act completely without conscience. It’s a strange feeling knowing that one may be best suited to living in a cave by oneself.

As we all know, that’s not how life works. We have responsibilities and jobs. In the future, I’ll have Munchkins. Part of what makes us human, living in a society with other humans is the ability to rise above our base urges. Some people don’t need to do as much rising. Some people are naturally suited to burying themselves in their work. If they start early they may have no one to satisfy but themselves. Some people desire only to care after their children and are afforded that opportunity.

The rest of us are needed to rise above those urges. It’s what makes us a society. I do think the vacation thing is a good idea. Everyone needs some time to be who they naturally are. Within reason of course.

2 thoughts on “Pop Culture Craving

  1. I make little “you can’t have your pudding until you eat your meat” bargains with myself all the time. I recently acquired a PS3 and I’ve been craving it, but I also recently moved and my house is a mess. It would be very easy to spend all of my free time playing PS3, but I made myself not fire it up until there are no more boxes in my house.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

