Yet again, I’m weird

So yesterday was a little weird. Sorry about that. I started off talking about how I don’t want to only write sad stuff, or be too deep all the time and ended up talking about the scientific viability of certain Zombies.

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I got to thinking about that whole thing this morning. It led me down the path of wondering if I post too often. If I post something every day, do I run out of ideas? Is yesterday what happens when I’m out of ideas? Should I think about posting less often so that I can always be thoughtful about my posts?

As usual, I’m the weird one. I decided that writing less would actually result in less ideas for me. I know this seems counter-intuitive(let’s face it, I’m like a definition of counter-intuitive,) but I promise you that it isn’t. I really thought about this,m so stick with me.

I started writing here to process things. Lots of things. I tend to be an out loud thinker. I almost always get better results when I talk through something. Sometimes I have entire conversations talking at someone, come to a conclusion and they just nod and say “Yep, sounds good.”I imagine that makes for some frustrating interactions. Sorry about that. One of the ways I process all of these different things is by just coming here and typing. What happens happens.

I also realized that if I posted less frequently, I would find a way to procrastinate my posting in such a way that any schedule would be pointless. I would rationalize not posting on time. Telling myself I’m going to post every weekday gives me a little bit of leeway for exactly what time, but not for what days. I only skip when I literally run out of time and can’t get to it or forget, or if I’m out of town or otherwise unable to get to the computer. If I were to tell myself I was going to post 3 times a week, I’d probably end up slapping 3 crappy posts up on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday that none of you would be interested in.

Writing here is important to me, and a good way to make sure I keep it a priority is to have the posting schedule of one post every weekday. I’m going to stick with that. Will it occasionally result in zombie-talk? Probably. Will some posts be sad? Yep. Will I continue to be off-the-wall, mostly unpredictable and unabashedly strange? You bet.

If that’s your cup of tea, stick around. We like tea. Tell your friends. Invite them too. The more the merrier.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Any specific timetables or routines with blogging that make you a better blogger?

4 thoughts on “Yet again, I’m weird

  1. It seems like you’re over-thinking this. I write when I have something to say. If that is every day, so be it. If not, oh well.

    By the way, we had a “Thinker” in front of the Detroit Institute of Arts where I grew up so your choice of pictures made me smile.

    • Woo! Smiles!
      I’m sure I am over-thinking it. I over think everything. But I also know that if I give myself too much free reign, I’ll start to slack off like I always do.

  2. I like tea as well. I don’t have a schedule, because like you say it would result in crappy posts. But I try to post at least once a week, or even better, twice. But I only want to publish things I can be proud of, content with. If it doesn’t feel right, I won’t throw it on the Internet.
    Don’t worry about posting too much. If you don’t post something for a long time, you’ll feel the need again I guess :). It will somehow solve it selve probably.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

