The Whispers

I used to hear the whispers all the time. It used to be quieter, easier to hear them. Not so much anymore

 

They’re still there. I know they are. They’re always there. Mumbling and grumbling and hissing just outside of my range of hearing. They used to be easy to hear. Now it’s all too loud

A chimpanzee brain at the Science Museum London

A chimpanzee brain at the Science Museum London (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s too loud at work and at home. Everyone needs something from me and I can’t sit in the quiet. It never stayed quiet for long, the whispers always came.

 

Whispers came and gave me ideas. They explored and fleshed out those ideas. They talked and talked while i listened and remembered.

 

It was easier to hear the whispers as a child. I realize that now. It’s just one more thing children can hold over our heads.

 

I miss the whispers. They were always pushing and prodding me. They encouraged me to grow.

 

Now all the things going on around me distract from the whispers

 

I wish they would come back.

 

4 thoughts on “The Whispers

  1. The whispers are still there, I know this for a fact. It’s just that as we grow older and the world tries to take the magic away, and hearing them becomes more difficult. You’ll find them again, I know.

    • It’s just much harder than you would think, because all the things keeping you from hearing them are outside your control. So you have to kind of wait until the circumstances are right. That’s hard to do.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

