I’m Baaaack!

English: US Capitol at night. A mosaic image o...

English: US Capitol at night. A mosaic image of around 10 segments taken with a Canon 5D and 24-105mm f/4L IS lens. Español: El Capitolio de noche. Русский: Американский Капитолий ночью Српски / Srpski: Амерички Капитолиј ноћу Українська: Американський Капітолій уночі (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello Ladies and Germs.

I can now tell you where I scampered off to for the last 5 days or so. Vacation!

As a vacation/5 year anniversary trip The Wife and I went to Washington DC. I didn’t really want to tell all of you ahead of time, in case one of you had any inclination to steal all my stuff. Well, not so much those of you who stop by on the regular, but this is the Interweb and anything can happen. Better safe than sorry.

I won’t give you the play by play, but I can give you the quick itinerary:

Friday: Fly out at 6:25 am (too early), museums during the day, monuments at dusk/night.

Saturday: Sleep in, Museum, walk around the White House, relatively nice dinner(it was awesome. Hollandaise sauce should be on everything. Everything.) Ghost tour, drinks at a couple of the fancy hotel bars.

Sunday: Museum, pictures, Surprise for Anniversary, Super Fancy Anniversary Dinner(Out of this world. We won’t talk about the bill, but I would venture to say, Worth it!), Capitol building night pictures.

Monday: Capitol tour, Library of Congress, Supreme Court, Kill time until flight at 9:15 10:15 because it was delayed(too late)

My feet hurt, my legs hurt, I’m still tired and one day off work when I got back wasn’t enough but here we are! It was a lot of fun. If I get some good stories after I process I’ll make sure to relate them.

So what all did I miss? Anything?

I have to say that I think we all deserve more vacations. We all need some time to recharge the batteries. If we had more opportunities to do that, whatever you choose to do, I think we would all be a little less stressed out. It’s all cumulative, so not being able to take that time out and step back just gets more detrimental the longer we go without it.

I’m pretty guilty of never finding any time to decompress. There are lots of ways I could in my everyday life without having to go on vacation, I just don’t make the best use of my time some days.

I could disconnect from the digital world and just sit and read for fun, instead of to finish a book. I could sit on my porch with some music and a beverage(adult or otherwise) and just enjoy the fresh air. I’m sure there are more of you who don’t take time to get everything back in order.

It’s much easier to just keep pressing on. Keep moving through your day and going from one item to the next on the never ending list we all have. It’s even sometimes easier to do something mindless like flip on the television or video games, simply because stopping and thinking hat would really let you relax is too much out of the ordinary.

Just think about that the next time you feel wiped out but still find yourself doing something mindless.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Do you think we need more vacations? Or do you find enough time to get your head clear?

6 thoughts on “I’m Baaaack!

  1. Welcome back! Now go read my blog ;).
    No seriously, you are very right about vacations. And about being safe, not sorry. I wish I could go abroad more, to get out of this and everything and everyone here. Sometimes, I just want to leave it behind for a while and get myself together again. It’s only then you can see that everything goes one while you’re away.
    Unfortunately, it costs money. Which I don’t have…

    • No kidding. For being so much fun, and frequently filled with not a whole lot of stuff, vacations cost a LOT of money.
      We’re blessed to have been able to go on one every couple of years since we’ve been together. It also helps that we both tend to like things in small doses, so long weekend type vacations work best for us. They also happen to be less expensive than big long vacations.
      I actually don’t even mind “Staycation” type breaks either. I have plenty of books to read and things to catch up on at home.

      • It always feels better to go on a shorter holiday because you spend less money at the same time… I mean, it feels like a lot less.
        I’ve been lucky because I could go on a holiday with my parents for years and years, but this year I’m going with friends and I had to give up one vacation because of no money… That sucked.

      • Yeah, it’s very easy to take all the free trips with parents for granted. I know I used to.
        Of course, now that I’m older, as much as I’d like to spend some time with them, and not pay, I know being stuck in the same place as them the entire trip would turn out to be problematic.

      • Hehe, yeah, it could get kind of… annoying… But now we only do ‘active’ vacations together, like skiing, which doesn’t demand a lot of talking.
        Easy.
        But so far I wouldn’t even mind that because I still live at home…

      • Yeah that could be fun. I was thinking of my family vacations where it’s 10 – 24 hours of driving, followed by tours or camping. I’m not so much a camping person.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

