Looking Forward

I’m looking forward to being a corpse.

Yoga postures Shavasana

Yoga postures Shavasana (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Corpse pose that is. (HA!)

I know I’ve talked about yoga before, and I’m trying not to make this blog all about my adventures at yoga class, but I felt like today it was particularly apropos.

The last thing that we do in yoga class is called Shavasana. It translates roughly to “Corpse Pose.” We do it to be able to relax all the muscles we’ve been using, to practice our focusing, and practice breathing. It’s typically my favorite part.

Yes, go ahead and laugh about the irony of the lazy kid’s favorite part being the part where I lay there and do nothing for 10-15 minutes. <pause for laughter> Honestly, though, what I like about it is when I am really able to focus on letting things go, fully relax my body, focus on my breathing and really find a place of peace. It’s a very centering experience.

I know at least one of you is dismissing me as being a new age hippie weirdo. I promise it’s not like that. I find that when I’m able to do what I’m supposed to do; relax my body and mind, and focus on watching those anxious thoughts flit by instead of dwelling on them, I really leave class feeling refreshed, relaxed and energized.

I’ve mentioned that I get over-anxious about my schedule. I dwell on things I have no control over. Generally the cause of most of my anxiety is inside my own head. I’ve tried meditation before, and it typically results in me falling asleep. Working out does not remove my stress because I spend the whole time thinking in silence and sweating. Which makes me anxious and sweaty. So yoga is the first thing that has really given me something that allows me to let go.

I’m not always able to get myself focused on my breathing and get as deeply relaxed as I would like to, but I’ve been doing better. I’m really trying to make the effort to do this correctly. So for those of you keeping track, I have stuck with this for nearly a month(freaking unheard of), I’m putting effort into doing it properly(generally I just keep doing it however I usually do it), and I’m enjoying the time I spend doing these.

I’m telling you, if you have trouble finding something to help you shake off the troubles of the everyday grind, yoga or meditation might work out for you. Not trying to force anyone, but It has made a difference for me, and I’m not known for making big changes. I’m a Taurus after all.

Well, after all that, I’ve had a shitty couple days, so I’m really looking forward to spending 10 minutes or so acting like a corpse. If this turns into a zombie movie, I am going to be highly disappointed.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Are you looking forward to anything relaxing? Got anything to help you decompress on the horizon?

 

4 thoughts on “Looking Forward

  1. Hey, a fellow Taurus! Big changes are hard and scary. Glad to see you found some peace in yoga though! When stress is all around, it’s very hard to find rest somewhere, as the thoughts easily follow you wherever you go. Even in my dreams I sometimes solve things that went wrong in daily life.
    But you have to find this thing to feel at ease every now and then, right? For me that would be dancing, like in really trying a choreography, even when I’ve got too little space and stuff. It’s just the movements and tiredness that wipes away all the rest. the world is muscles and music, and that’s it.
    Best feeling ever.

    • That’s exactly it. Everyone should find something that allows them to find some mental peace. We spend a lot of time these days rushing around, trying so hard to get everything done, that we’re often less effective because we can’t focus and we’re too stressed.
      We all need that little restful space.Glad yours is dancing! I’m not pa particularly gifted dancer. People who have seen me dance would call this a dramatic understatement. Haha

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

