Itch to scratch

I’ve got a wicked itch to play video games. I mean PLAY video games. You have no idea what I’m talking about. STORY TIME!

I’ve been playing video games fro as long as I can remember. Some of my first memories revolve around sitting in my playroom on a beanbag chair watching Eureka’s Castle, or playing on my Nintendo Entertainment System(NES). When I went to the babysitter’s house, before and after kindergarten, and all through the summer, we played Mega Man 2, or swam in the pool. I wanted more Mega Man. 

At one point in my childhood, between my mother’s house, my grandmother’s house, and my father’s house, I had an NES, a SEGA Genesis, an Atari 2600, a Super Nintendo(SNES), a Nintendo Gameboy, and a SEGA Game Gear. I was a bit spoiled. I’m sure that in no way factors into my current lack of impulse control and lack on financial responsibility.<insert eyeroll here>

I watched people play games, and I found watching people play them almost as exciting. Sitting in someone’s living room playing and watching video games is probably the thing that I did the most over the course of my childhood. Not playing outside, not using my imagination. It was video games, and reading.

I used to play soccer. I was pretty good and I really enjoyed that. When I was 9, I was diagnosed with Legg-Calve Perthes. My father and step mother noticed I was limping a lot during a soccer game. After a trip to the ER, a referral to an Orthopedic Surgeon and lots of x-rays, it was determined that I needed to be on crutches and in traction. No weight on my left leg. That kind of put a damper on any possible desire to enjoy the outdoors. It was a pretty small desire, mind you, but I really did enjoy soccer, I swear. I practiced at home and everything.

This diagnosis only cemented the reading and video game thing. They have been my two favorite activities for quite some time now, well into my adult life. I purchased a video game at midnight in college. I skipped class to go buy and play a new video game on release day. My good buddy and I once had to stay at college through a spring break and we spent the first day playing Def Jam: Icon for 16 hours straight. We stopped only for food. The bulk of which was delivered to us.

THAT’S what I mean when I say I’ve got an itch to play some video games. I have always been a binge gamer. Not necessarily at the expense of any responsibility. It’s just that my chosen way to enjoy games involves large chunks of time. That doesn’t happen much anymore.

As a mostly-responsible adult, I just don’t have the time to sit down in front of a PC or TV for 10-14 hours in a stretch. This has given me the opportunity to appreciate games that favor smaller bites of gameplay. I’m grateful for that, since I’m a creature of habit and wouldn’t normally expand my playing options. 

Sometimes, I really just want to binge on games without feeling guilty about wasting time. I need a gamecation!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Do you have any hobbies or activities that you need to take a vacation to do?

2 thoughts on “Itch to scratch

  1. You and me both man!! Reading this made me so nostalgic, we had very similar childhoods. Gaming and Reading are two of my three favorite hobbies, and ones that I have had every since I can remember. One of my earliest memories in life is opening the wallunit in our home the morning of my 5th birthday, and finding a big box with my name on it, after tearing it open, there it was, my first game system ever and the only thing my little 5 year old heart desired, an NES!!!!

    Long are the days of binge gaming often, but every once in a while my wife will let me sneak away to a friends house for an entire day full of nothing but games. (Mainly League of Legends, haha)

    • Jealous! lol
      I got to go on a quick trip to Chicago to visit my friend from college last summer. We just kind of hung around and gamed and ate. We looked around the city too, but a large portion of the trip was for hanging out and wasting time.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

