My Whimsy

I’m feeling exceptionally whimsical today.

Felt food Easter cookies

Felt food Easter cookies (Photo credit: ivers)

Don’t have a panic attack I’m not going to go into my deep person feelings about why I’m whimsical. I just got to thinking about what a weird concept ‘whimsy’ is once you get to be an adult.

 

  1. whim·sy

    /ˈ(h)wimzē/

    Noun
    1. Playfully quaint or fanciful behavior or humor.
    2. A whim.
    Synonyms
    whim – caprice – fancy – vagary – fad – whimsey

 

As a kid, whimsy is practically the default setting. Everything gets approached as new, fun or a game. Things aren’t thought out. Everything happens very spur of the moment as a child.

I love this feeling. As a child, you do what you want when you want. Within the rules of course. It’s a very free feeling. Kids do need and appreciate some structure, and I get that. Daydreaming and being spontaneous are the beauty of childhood though.

That all tends to go away as an adult. Everything is scheduled for you. All of your time is no longer your own. Daydreaming and spontaneous action is usually considered immature.

I love feeling playful and spontaneous, wild and fun. I love to daydream and do weird or silly things just for fun. That’s probably why I seem so at home in Toys R Us. I don’t really care.

So is anyone else feeling exceptionally whimsical today? Maybe you should be!

2 thoughts on “My Whimsy

  1. Well we had ice lollies today in Biology and I got extremely excited…
    The teacher brought the ice lolly packets in from the freezer (where the dead rats are also kept…) and I just went “OH MY GOD I WANT A NOBBLY BOBBLY PLEASE.” It was insane ice lolly time.
    And the other day I kind of maybe stole my friend’s shoes and ran around with them until he caught me.
    I’m such a poor excuse for an eighteen year-old.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

