Legacy Series

Freakonomics

Freakonomics (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the first in a series of undetermined length, with no set schedule for new posts. I was listening to a podcast from Freakonomics on the subject of legacy. They were discussing ways that a person’s legacy can be affected both before and after their passing. I got to thinking, “How do I want to be remembered?”

 

All that being said, I’m only 28. As far as I know, I’ve got many years left to shape my own legacy. I don’t entirely know everything that I will or won’t do years from now. I also don’t know what some of the things I want to be remembered about me are yet. There is at least one thing that I know, so today we’re talking about that one. That is my attitude toward a group of people that I will call “Service Personnel.”

 

The main gist is as follows: You should always be nice to Service Personnel until they force you to act otherwise. We’ll get more into this, but if you think about it, most of the time it isn’t the person you’re talking to’s fault.

 

I have previously worked in a restaurant, a grocery store, and I currently work in a pseudo-retail environment. I have been a member of the Service Personnel. I deal with the public almost every day. People are jerks.

 

I firmly believe that every person ought to have to work at least one summer in a food service industry job, and one summer in a retail industry job. Maybe just as a summer job when they’re younger,  in school, or even as some of they’re first jobs. I believe that this will show every person what it’s like to be on the other side of the counter/serving tray. Then they will realize what an asshole they sound like.

 

People are rude to Service Personnel for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it’s because they had a bad day, sometimes they think they’re entitled to something, and occasionally something was actually incorrect. Being rude to the person trying to help you will not fix your problem. I bet that person is upset that something went wrong as well. Often times it’s not even that person’s fault, but they’re still trying to get it fixed as best they can.

 

This is why I am always nice to Service Personnel until they give me reason not to be. I’m polite even when I have a problem, I start my tip percentage higher, and I try to be very flexible and understanding. I also try to let managers know when things are going exceptionally well, since everyone else just complains. I have been on the other side of the discussion and it’s not fun.

 

That’s something I hope people remember about me. That I was polite to people in service industries. I feel like it’s important to me, and I hope that I do a good enough job that people notice. I don’t want to brag about it, but I would enjoy if people were at least aware.

 

So that’s the first thing I want people to remember when it comes to my legacy. It may seem like a small thing, but I’ve been trying to do it for over a decade now, and I expect to continue to do it. I’m sure I’ll come up with more things, but that’s the first.

 

Anything that you want to be remembered about you? That’s important to your legacy?

 

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

