Fate! Destiny!

So I was watching How I Met Your Mother again,(what? It’s a good show.) and the concept of destiny(and an amusing joke about a stripper named Destiny) or fate came up. The show was talking about these concepts as they relate to a relationship. Were 2 people being thrown together by the universe because they were somehow ‘meant to be together’? As usual, this sort of thing gets me thinking.

Man thinking on a train journey.

Man thinking on a train journey. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My pondering had less to do with the relationship version of it all. I’m a happily married guy. The Wife keeps me in line and takes care of me; in return I… well there’s something that I do and I’ll have to let you know if I figure it out. I was more thinking about how the concept of destiny/fate applies to my belief that everything happens for a reason. I know I mentioned this, briefly, before and I may have even indicated that I wasn’t specifically referring to fate.

I tend to think of ‘everything happens for a reason’ in a very broad, general, and non-specific fashion. It’s something I think about to try to keep from dwelling on bad things happening or good things not happening. I know that I am a blessed person. Things may not always go just the way I want, but I have very little to complain about. Things have gone alright for me. This is what I use as a sort of baseline to indicate to myself that ‘things will work out alright, everything happens for a reason.’

If I stop to think about all of it, I start to get to a place that I’m not sure if I want to be. Am I destined for anything? If I am, am I okay with that? Maybe it isn’t as specific as ‘you will end up a doctor.’ Even if it is as general as ‘you will have kids,’ am I okay with that being the course for my life no matter what? I am able to take solace in the fact that when something doesn’t go my way, I feel like there was a reason for that and it will work out eventually. Without knowledge of what that reason is, am I okay being steered in a direction without my input?

It also tend to lead me to thoughts of “The Universe” as some sort of entity with plans and something that uses signs as indicators. Is this something I should be thinking about when major changes happen? Should I look for signs and be less concerned with things not working out immediately? I would hate to hamstring myself because I was busy waiting and reacting to “The Universe” instead of being proactive.

That being said, I’m not always an exceptionally proactive person(insert joke about anything including the word’active’ here). I tend to be the kind of person who just continues along a path until a crossroad appears and I’m forced to make a decision. Rarely am I the type to pick the direction or destination and just set off through the woods to get there.

So at the end of the day, I being to wonder if I should be happy about everything happening for a reason. I wonder if destiny/fate plays a role in my life. If it does, how flexible are the steps and the results? Am I alright with this? Does it matter if I’m alright with it? Should I be paying attention for signs? Worry about ‘Putting things out into the Universe”?

I may never know, but I do know that telling myself ‘everything happens for a reason’ still makes me feel better when things aren’t going quite right.

2 thoughts on “Fate! Destiny!

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

