Bowties Are Cool…

Do you have any idea how hard it is trying to be cool all the time?

No, I’m not really implying that I’m cool all the time, or even most of the time. I was just thinking how hard you have to work to get people to think you’re cool.

Eclectic

Eclectic (Photo credit: joshwept)

I’ve always been the kind of person with varied interests that might seem a bit strange at first glace. As if none of them really go with any of the others. “He’s Eclectic,” you might say. In an effort to indicate ‘weird’ in a nice way.

I find so many different things that interest me, that I end up looking in to an incredibly varied array of strange subjects. This applies to music, movies, books, shows, photos, art, and hobbies. Basically, that one thing you enjoy learning about or doing, I probably once got curious about it and looked up a bunch of random facts about it.  That’s just the way I am. I’m Eclectic.

Being cool requires an element of mystery. You are good at something interesting that is difficult to do. Maybe you know someone famous but you won’t tell who. Sometimes being cool means being the first to do something. being a pioneer makes you cool. Assuming other people wish that they could o that thing. Sometimes it requires an air of arrogance about these things.

If you aren’t naturally a person to try all these new things, or naturally possess that attitude, being cool is hard work. You have to go out of your way to try to hear new music so you can share it with your friends. You have to see lots of weird movies so you can introduce your friends to the good ones.

Sometimes being weird or eclectic lets you stumble into a cool new thing. That’s super convenient. Say, the band Vampire Weekend. I heard a couple songs that I liked. I downloaded them, and eventually the whole albums. This was 2 years ago, before ‘Holiday’ got used in a Christmas commercial. I told a couple people about this cool new band I found. They nodded and said “Oh I’ll have to take a listen…”

Then ‘Holiday’ gets used in a commercial, and everyone says “That’s pretty catchy.” I responded with “That’s Vampire Weekend. I told you about them. That song really isn’t about holidays though. It’s about vacations. They’re British, so ‘Holiday’ means vacation.”

To which they respond, “Okay. That’s weird that you know that off the top of your head.”

That’s pretty much how I’m cool in a nutshell.

Are you cool naturally? Or do you have to try real hard? Or do you only ever stumble into it like me?

6 thoughts on “Bowties Are Cool…

  1. As soon as I saw the title for this post, I thought it was going to be about Doctor Who. I mean, I don’t even WATCH Doctor Who, but I still get the reference. *ahem* But yeah, I’m not a “cool” person. I can juggle, but that’s about it really.

    • See, I think juggling is cool. I can juggle 3 balls for like 6 seconds and then it all goes to hell.
      It’s a pain because sometimes you even feel like you should be cooler with your friends. You’ve already impressed them enough to be your friends, why should you still have to be cool? lol

      • I don’t even try to be cool, but the way by which my best friend and I became friends is because on my first day at our school, I sat next to her in form and she just said to me, “Hey, do you want to be my best friend?” And I said sure why not and it’s worked out pretty well so far. I definitely wasn’t cool when she met me though.

      • That’s an awesome best friend story. I think it would be better if more of us just decided to be friends with someone sitting next to us. That’s harder to do as we get older, but we should probably all make a better effort.

  2. Pingback: Jukebox Hero | Inkling of Asylum

  3. Pingback: There is weird around us all the time everywhere. – slimegreen

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

