I Wear Yo Grandad’s Clothes, I Look Incredible.

Not but seriously.

Nothing Suits Me Like a Suit

Nothing Suits Me Like a Suit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always had a bit of an odd sense of style when it comes to getting dressed up. I blame my Grandfather. I love him, but he wore some crazy things. I spent a lot of time with him when I was young and so I picked up some of that dress style.

My grandfather was born in Kentucky in the early 20’s. He was in the army and fought in World War 2. He was also a minister and a very southern Christian. He loved looking nice, and suits were his favorite apparel. He also liked bright colors. I think you can see where this is going.

There are pictures of me, around age 7, in which I am wearing a white suit, a wide collared teal shirt, and white snakeskin cowboy boots. I have big ears, and my mother used to let my super curly hair grow all year and then buzz it all off at the beginning of the summer. This picture was taken at the beginning of the summer.

My Grandfather had suits in every color of the rainbow. The were always clean and pressed, and he had more shoes than he needed. He always looked sharp. He also always stood out a little bit. Wearing an electric blue 3 button suit tends to do that. He also had a powder pink one, and a peach one. Of course he had all manner of black, grey and navy suits as well.

I tend to look a little outside the box when I have the opportunity with dress clothes. I practically refuse to wear slacks and a sport coat. I would much rather wear a full suit. With a vest, if it’s available.

I’ve really been looking for an occasion to wear a black with black¬†windowpane pattern suit.

Haters gonna hate. I look incredible.

Did you pick up any style quirks from your relatives?

One thought on “I Wear Yo Grandad’s Clothes, I Look Incredible.

  1. Pingback: Modern Day Geniuses | Inkling of Asylum

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

