Listen Here Whippersnapper!

I’m totally starting to look old.

World Beard and Moustache Championship - Rolan...

World Beard and Moustache Championship – Roland van Den Bremt (Photo credit: zieak)

I’m really not THAT old, even though most of the people I work with are waaaaayyyyy younger than me and I feel old. I just noticed the other day that my age is actually starting to catch up with me, and I look like my age. It really isn’t all that bad though.

I have a big forehead. Based on my immediate male family members, I’m lucky to have made it past 21 with any semblance of hair on my head. I do have a couple spots that it’s thinning in the corners though. What really starts to make me look older though, are the interspersed grey hairs on the sides of my head. I have decently dark brown hair, so they aren’t immediately noticeable. In fact, for a pretty long time I thought they were just some blonde hairs sneaking their way back in, since my hair was really light when I was younger. If I really look, totally not blonde. Just some grey.

As for my face, I’ve always had relatively deep set eyes, and a decent set of bags under them. That coupled with other assorted eye wrinkles means I don’t typically fall into the category of “bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.” At least they still sparkle, and they get very blue when I’m outside on a clear day.

I also typically favor a beard. I must have some sort of chin covering of some sort lest I look EXACTLY like my father. I love my Padre, but I don’t need to look just like him everyday. Special occasions only. Having a full beard doesn’t exactly take any years off the look though. It isn’t an exceptionally popular look with my age group and cultural set. That’s cool, I look pretty freakin’ sweet, so I’ll be a rebel. There’s a big caveat here though; Once you start getting grey beard hairs,(like I found yesterday) the amount a full beard ages you goes up exponentially for every grey hair. I’m gonna look like Santa if I go too grey to quickly.

Regardless, age is just a number and all that. This isn’t meant to be a complaint, or even a wistful look back on those times I looked younger. I just noticed a grey beard hair and thought I was starting to actually look a bit older. I’m not all that worried about it actually. I’m going to be the same person no matter how old I look. Grey hair, no hair, wrinkles, or Santa beard, I’m still me.

Do you look your age? Do you look like life has aged you ahead of your time? or do you, like The Wife frequently still get mistaken for a high-schooler when you wear t-shirts from your place of employment? (She’s a teacher. God bless her)

 

2 thoughts on “Listen Here Whippersnapper!

  1. It’s happening. We are starting to look old. Truth? I am starting to get laugh lines, eye crinkles, forehead furrows. Oddly enough, however, my perfectly clear skin up until now has decided to suffer from late-20s acne. Thanks, skin.

    I haven’t seen my true hair color for quite some time, so grays may be creeping in. I’d rather hide under the peroxide than know for sure.

    I also feel like I have the body of a woman who has birthed a child or two…yet no babies. Hm.

    Worse yet, I crack eight ways till Tuesday every morning and my muscles are slowly starting to whisper, “What the hell are you doing to us, woman?” after each run.

    Physically, I feel mighty old.

    • See, I don’t dye my hair. I’m not gonna bother either. I’ve got no desire to worry about whether my hair is grey or not. Not worth the effort of pretending it isn’t.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

