I’m Late! I’m Late!

The laughing jester // Art museum of Sweden, S...

The laughing jester // Art museum of Sweden, Stockholm (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So I didn’t get anything written earlier today and now I feel all behind. Whatever. Don’t you judge me.

I guess since I brought it up over at 450 Good Choices in the comments section, I’ll go this direction; I tend to stylize myself The Court Jester. I do not mean by this that I wear harlequin and bells and do acrobatics.

What I’m getting at is the more traditional personality of the Jester. The Fool being the only one who could make fun of The King. The Court Jester being the first form of political satire. I’m talking about the guy that shows up at your fancy party, makes snide comments about this, that, and the other thing, and everyone laughs at.

They may be laughing but they’re also secretly pondering whatever the topic of conversation was. I enjoy drawing attention to myself. I like conversations with a hint of subtext. I like to mock people. Seriously, the comparisons are numerous.

I’ve always been fond of the Jester, in part because even though he’s always overlooked, he can still be incredibly influential. Everyone enjoys the Jester’s performance, until that sharp tongue and observant eye are turned in their direction. It’s such an interesting dynamic, and I suppose it just always kind of drew me in.

I know it’s short tonight, but I’m a little disjointed this evening.

What’s the modern day equivalent of the old Court Jester?

3 thoughts on “I’m Late! I’m Late!

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

