Old! Old and decrepit!

Happy Birfday!

Happy Birfday! (Photo credit: bryan champ)

I’m running low on particularly insightful ideas today. Not knowing what I was talking about never stopped me talking before, so I’m writing anyway!

Since I typically take the weekends off from posting, unless some crazy super awesome thing happens, I feel I should let you know today: Sunday is mah Birfday!

The Big 2-8! Wait, that’s not an important one is it? Oh well.

I know that in the grand scheme of things 28 isn’t really THAT old. I am starting to understand why everyone was always complaining about how old they felt when I was younger though. As you start to get older and you begin to settle into a routine, it can sometimes seem like everyday is the same. Some days you just feel like you’ve got not enough time and too much time, all at the same time.

There are never enough hours in the day to get everything done, but then you turn around and 3 months have gone by. It’s a weird time-stasis-y thing. It’s almost like we’re all living in some crazy hyper-sleep where everything works at dream speed. Maybe The Matrix is real.

Whatever it is that causes it, I just know it can be a little disheartening. These days there is so much going on in the world, and there is so much that you’re expected to balance. I don’t even have any mini-me’s running around yet, God help me once I do. It’s just unfortunate that the pace of life doesn’t lend itself to being able to get what you need done with time to do what you really enjoy.

I know some people are able to find that balance, but as per usual I move a little slower than some. I do have to say that having this blog is quite useful. Being able to just kind of think out loud and occasionally get input for readers is a good place for me to be. Some of my friends know how inside my own head I can get, and this place is kind of my outlet. It’s like group therapy where I never have to give up the talking stick, and the group leader is busy stuffing his/her face with donuts and coffee and isn’t interrupting with “But how does that make you FEEL?” all the time.

So thanks to all of you, Happy Birfday Weekend to me, and try to remember to take some time for you this weekend. I plan to try to take a few minutes here and there to just kind of center myself.

Any suggestions? Other than blogging, because, seriously? That one is totally obvious.

3 thoughts on “Old! Old and decrepit!

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

