I’m On An Emotional Rollercoaster!

Sort of. Well kind of, but not really.

The Scenic Railway at Luna Park, Melbourne, is...

The Scenic Railway at Luna Park, Melbourne, is the world’s oldest continually-operating rollercoaster, built in 1912. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I guess what I mean is not that I’m super high and super low. I had a pretty awesome weekend. I needed a new computer, and seeing as Mi Padre is pretty good at working on computers it seemed logical to me to have him help me build one. So I drove to may parents early Saturday morning, and spent most of the day with them. Padre and I built damn near the fastest computer I’ve ever seen, and most definitely the fastest computer I’ve ever used. He was pretty excited to get to spend someone else’s money for a change, and I was pretty excited to make the jump from “usable, but not all the time” to “Fricking Light-Speed”. I also got to hang with my dad, which I don’t make enough time for.

So good weekend, a little busy with the driving and catching up on weekend chores when I got home. I was pretty tired last night and still pretty wiped out this morning when the ol’ alarm went off. As I got up and started migrating toward the shower, I stopped to grab clothing for the day. While trying to decide which shirt I cared enough about to drag off a hanger I realized, very suddenly, that I had to work late today and I had forgotten until now. 3 minutes after I stumbled out of bed. With one eyes still not open all the way. I was most certainly not awake enough to handle this information with the kind of emotional maturity expected of an adult.

So this particular realization pretty much destroyed the first hour of my morning. On the drive to work, I decided to put on a playlist that includes Jack Johnson, Jimmy Buffet, and Zac Brown Band. This is one of my go to playlists pretty much all year, even though it’s pretty Island-y. It enhances the sunny days like today, and brings some warmth to grey days in the dead of winter. Well apparently this was just what the doctor ordered today, because in short order I didn’t really care who was doing what today, I was down with whatever. So basically, my mood has been pretty fickle today. I can’t say what might happen with it the rest of the day, but I can say that the current mood-state is a bit unusual.

Unusual how? you might ask. Well, even though my mood being fickle isn’t exactly news to friends and family, what is a bit of a surprise is that it typically doesn’t trend in an upward fashion. Generally speaking, if you were to ask someone about my mood being fickle, I suspect the general response would be something close to “Well it doesn’t take much to put him in a bad mood, I know that.” So the fact that mostly involuntarily, my mood decided to take an upward swing is a bit of a surprise to everyone.

This just enforces my perception that revisiting writing here, talking with you guys, is really helping improve my overall quality of life. I tend to be a stubborn ,grumpy, brooding, emotionally charged person. I love being creative, but I rarely find an outlet valve for all that creative energy. Most of the time I just end up further frustrating myself by being unable to transmit the ideas bouncing around in the space between my ears in  a way I’m satisfied with. I know I haven’t been posting a lot of creative type pieces here, but I really think  being open to express myself and explore somethings in a public-type voice is improving a lot of aspects of my life.

So thanks guys!

Why do you guys write your blog, specifically as opposed to writing in another format? Do you also write someplace else? Where and why?

2 thoughts on “I’m On An Emotional Rollercoaster!

  1. Hey there Mr. Chris. Just checkin’ out yer blog. I too suffer from the emotional roller coaster, although mine is a death-defying, nauseating and borderline anarchy fueled ride. Ask my husband, he will concur. Creativity and a sort of darkness often find themselves in bed together. Shocking. That said, I write on my blog because I don’t have enough time to seriously pursue novel writing. It was a lot easier to do that when I was in grad school and had hours and hours to devote to it. Blogging is fast and immediate gratification. I used to look down my snobby nose onto it, but my recent experience at 450 Good Choices has been similar to yours here. It’s a nice channel for creativity and conversation. I dig it. Keep writing. Put just enough pressure onto yourself about it to feel vaguely guilty when you aren’t doing it, but not enough to drive you to anxiety medication. It’s a careful dance. There you have it: Advice from the overly-educated and tragically unpublished.

  2. It turns out that I really need the public forum that blogging provides. I can’t just create. I have to share and show and elicit feedback. It really is pretty instantaneous feedback. At the very least, the feeling of accomplishment is instant. I click publish, and I know I completed it.
    Thanks for the encouragement. Nothing brightens my day like incredibly hysterical writing, and you two ladies brighten my day with every post.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

