I’m Not Even Supposed To Be Here Today!

Do you ever feel like you exist in the wrong place/time/world?

Weird question, I know, but it’s born from a thought that I’ve occasionally had. Sometimes I wonder if I was born in the wrong place and/or time. It’s not as if I’m so supremely unhappy with where I am that I feel anywhere else must be better. It’s more like a nagging feeling that some of my little habits and quirks would be better suited in a different environment.

For instance, I tend to be a kind of ‘old-fashioned’ guy when it comes to the male female relationship. Not in the “men’s work/women’s work” kind of way, more like in a social interaction way. I feel like both genders have responsibilities to the other in most social situations. Being as I’m male, I’m much more familiar with the male set of responsibilities, but there are a few of the ladies’ ones that I feel comfortable mentioning.

For example, I feel like at any practical opportunity, it is my responsibility to hold the door for ladies present. Definitely where The Wife is concerned, but also for any females close enough to the door that holding it open isn’t forcing them to jog to get there. This is a personal feeling of responsibility. It’s something I feel that I should do when possible. When in an unfamiliar city or area, I feel that the safety of all present is at least partly my responsibility, based on who else is around. If I’m only the 3rd biggest dude, then not quite as much as when it’s me and 4 girls.

I also understand that some ladies might feel like this is a quaint, old-fashioned notion and would prefer if I not act as if they can’t open a door for themselves. All I ask of the lady in this situation is to let me know as politely as possible and I will do my best to honor your wishes. Something like “I appreciate you opening the door for me, but I would prefer to open it myself in the future.” I have no problems with that.

Gentleman wearing bowler hat and three-piece suit

Gentleman wearing bowler hat and three-piece suit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s not just my old-timey social cues that make me feel out of place form time to time. I LOVE wearing a nice suit. I’m not afraid to tell you that I can pick a suit, shirt and tie and I look good. I might appreciate living in a time where a suit is the norm, as is a hat and walking stick.

I also have a strange fascination with British English. Not only do I find the accent charming, I think that a majority of the time the phrasing makes more logical sense than American English. Let’s be honest, we have turned American English into a monstrosity of a language. It’s so difficult to comprehend from a logical standpoint, that it’s ridiculously hard to learn as a second language. It just doesn’t make sense! We’re not doing ourselves any favors with the neglect we show grammar in schools either.

Who knows, maybe I just romanticize these things because I find them interesting. Maybe I really do look that good in a suit(Hint: I do). It does make me wonder how I would fare in a different place and time though.

What about you? Ever have aquirk that seems like it would fit in better elsewhere?

6 thoughts on “I’m Not Even Supposed To Be Here Today!

  1. Absolutely. I actually have about 5, 6 7 or 10 of those quirks every hour. I never really feel like I belong but most of the time I find that very interesting. It’s almost like I’m an outsider looking in. Think of it as the Matrix hahaha…. Ok, I just scared myself. I’m really not the Matrix. But I do know what you mean. I think that’s why I play with makeup so much.

    Ana

  2. As a laaddyyy (cue posh English accent) I have no problem with people holding doors open for me. In fact, I love it. Also, the classic three-piece suit complete with bowler hat and umbrella is just amazing, frankly. And, as an English laadddyyy, I tend to wonder what it would be like if chartered accountants and business men still went around in three-piece suits, complete with bowler hat and umbrella. I think it would be fantastic.
    Also as a British ladddyyy, I really don’t understand American. It might as well be another language. Every other country I’ve been to (especially America and New Zealand) I’ve received the typical “Oh my God, I LOVE your accent! It’s so BRITISH!” And I’m just like “Yes. Yes it is British. Because I’m British.” I truly don’t understand other people’s fascination for the accent. It’s funny, really.

    • It’s just that objectively, American grammar is so…bad. A lovely British accent reminds us that some people still speak a version of English that hasn’t been butchered beyond recognition.

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

