Where’s The Madman With A Blue Box When You Need Him?

If you get the title reference, I’ll give you a cookie.

I’ll be baking the cookies sometime after I figure out how to bake and distribute baked goods through the internet.

I have been watching a lot of  “Doctor Who” recently, and it brings some interesting concepts to light when it comes to time travel. If you aren’t familiar, the basic concept of “Doctor Who” is that this immortal time traveler picks up human companions and travels all of time and space with them in a spaceship called the TARDIS that looks like a 60’s British police box.

TARDIS Mk VII

TARDIS Mk VII (Photo credit: >Rooners)

Even though it would be super awesome to travel all of time and space, what has been kind of nagging at me is the implications of being able to adjust my own personal use of time on a day-to-day basis. I think it would be incredible to just be able to alter my own timeline experience. I’m not so concerned about changing major historical events or saving people that need saving, I think just being able to weave yourself in and out of time(not your own timeline, don’t want to create a paradox here) would be an exciting experience. The ability to participate in multiple things or events, effectively giving you the ability to be in multiple places at the same time, or have an infinite amount of time for the things you want to do is just super intriguing.

Everyone wishes there were more time available for them to use for things, but in reality if we had more time we would just fill it with more inane crap. There’s no actual need for most of the people in the country to fill their day with as much nonsensical crap as they do. Having the ability to move within that available time though would make for a completely different experience from anyone else.

Obviously this isn’t likely to happen anytime soon, but a man can dream right?

I just find myself wishing I had more time available to me on so many occasions. All those instances relate to my own personal life experience, so being able to just move around myself is all that I would really want to do. Maybe that’s a little selfish, not using the power of time travel to right wrongs and influence the world, but I’m not sure that I could handle that level of responsibility anyway.

Besides, who wants to get tangle p in all that wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey stuff anyway?

What would you do with the ability to time travel? Right the wrongs of the world? or just get a little more sleep?

2 thoughts on “Where’s The Madman With A Blue Box When You Need Him?

  1. Pingback: Hello? It’s Me Again Margaret… | Inkling of Asylum

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

