You Should Listen When I Speak…

It’s Friday! Let’s celebrate by mocking someone. I nominate… Me.

You really should listen when I speak, because I say some completely ludicrous things. I’m really talking about all possible meanings of the word ‘ludicrous’ here.

I like to think that I’m a funny guy. I say things that I think are funny. I love to get a laugh from other people. I frequently say things that get other people laughing, but to be honest they may very well be laughing at me. So what?

I guess there’s two parts to this, really: First, I mostly concern myself with what I find funny, and second I’m not sure I entirely care if I’m the subject or the source of the humor. If I’m going to concern myself with being funny because I enjoy being funny, then I’m really only going to bother with my own personal sense of humor. I’m mostly doing it for myself, so that’s what is really entertaining for me. As for the rest of it, I do funny things sometimes and deserve to be laughed at for it.

We all do things that might seem like awful or embarrassing things, but when you are able to take step back and remove yourself from the exact happenings I think you can admit that sometimes it’s just funny. You only thought it wasn’t funny because it happened to you. Sometimes you have to have a little bit of schadenfreude about yourself.

As all this relates to me, I say some just ridiculous things. If you want to be honest about it, sometimes I say them and only when I look at them later do I realize wheat some of the things I have said sound like.

I can give you an example, because I know you’re dying for one:

“You tucked my neck in! I felt it!”

While I could explain to you the context of this statement, isn’t it just a little better floating out there all on it’s own? Doesn’t it make you concern for my sanity and chuckle a little at the same time? Even I looked at that after I typed it and shook my head.

Next time you interact with me, see if I say or do anything that makes you snort your milk a little. The best ones seem to be when I just open my mouth and say something stupid that wasn’t intended to be stupid.

What about the rest of you? Do you say things like that? What was the last time you said something that just kind of hung there in the air because it was just a little off? If you know me, when was the last time I did it?

Leave a comment and let me know.

Friday-Love!

Friday-Love! (Photo credit: Viewminder)

 

 

P.S. here’s a stock photo of a funny face. Happy Friday!

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

