I’m a Big Kid Now!

As I was poking around on Freshly Pressed today I came across This Post on sweetandweak.

I felt obligated to post about my own personal inner child.

If you know me well, you know that the concept of me having an inner child is completely ludicrous. I don’t have an inner child and the thought is comical. In case you don’t know me that well, let me explain: I do not, in fact have an inner child. I don’t have an inner child because I never made a conscious decision to put that kid away.

My inner child hangs out with me every day. He’s chillin’ with me right now, and never bothers to go away. You know how little kids never seem to go away, they just hang out and ask you questions right when it’s most inconvenient? Yup, that’s how it works. Notice that with children if you haven’t seen them in a while and it’s quiet, something is seriously wrong? Yep same here.

I suppose I didn’t really stop and say to myself, “Self, let’s never grow up! Let’s really embrace that whole ‘I don’t wanna grow up, I’m a Toys-R-Us kid’ ad campaign.” I just haven’t grown out of so many innocuous, child-like things.

I want to be clear here, it’s not like I can’t handle responsibility. I’m not particularly good at it, but that’s just one of those things. We all have strengths and weaknesses, don’t judge me. Most of my tendencies are in the vein of “I don’t see a reason to stop doing that, just because I’m X number of years old now.”(27 at the end of the month, so really getting up there!)

I’m sure if you ask My Wife, it can be a little taxing some days. Generally speaking, I ATTEMPT to be civilized and respectable and whatnot in front of parents, in-laws, other adults, new friends and ‘serious business’ type friends, mostly for her benefit. I try, I promise. When I’m home alone, or when I can’t contain myself any longer and it’s just My Wife around, all bets are off.

Some of the less ridiculous and embarrassing examples would be: I run and slide across the kitchen floor practically every time I go through the kitchen/dining room in socks, I color in coloring books, and animated movies usually entertain me more than live action ones.

Sometimes it can be one of those personality traits that feels like it’s keeping me from being a ‘Real Adult’. Sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps me sane in this world where everyone and everything is on a schedule that I can never seem to stay on top of. At the end of the day though, it’s just one of the MANY quirks that makes me who I am.

 

3 thoughts on “I’m a Big Kid Now!

  1. Pingback: TGIF (Taunting Golfers Is Fun) « Inkling of Asylum

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

