Internet! Forever…

I was pondering today while I was bored, and I noticed that I have some odd internet habits.

Don’t get all excited, they aren’t that weird, and I bet if you stop and think about it, you do some strange things while you sit there with the browser open as well.

I suppose first it should be pointed out that I’ve been told I have a problem. I refuse to believe this. Since the advent of web browsers with multiples tabs available, I tend to have a couple more than necessary open at any given time. I say a couple, my ever-tolerant Wife says 15. I suppose I’ll leave it up to you to decide if my average of 24 tabs open at one time is a couple or 15 more than necessary.

Regardless, I tend to leave things open on these tabs like internet forums, and blogs. Things where new information could show up at anytime, without automatically informing me that there are things I could be reading about. They are usually about electronics, or sports. So my strangest habit is where I will routinely bounce between about 4 tabs, just refreshing each one to see if there’s anything new there. I probably do this every 5 to 10 minutes.
These sites only tend to update about once every hour or so. Granted, the forums are a lot more unpredictable because they rely on user contributions, but the point is the same. I can do this refreshing for several hours before I realize I’ve been looking at the same crap over and over again for all that time. How insane is that?

Actually, that sounds like… ‘The definition of insanity is continuing to do the same thing over and over, but expecting to get different results’. Hmmm… Interesting. Does that make me insane by most people’s definition? I already suspect I’m slightly unhinged.

What about you? Are you one of those people that clicks around the same couple of people’s profiles on Facebook every 10 minutes wondering if anything new has shown up? Kind of weird for both of us if you stop and think about it.

-Christopher

P.S. if you don’t know where the title of this post came from, read this. Warning! Language not necessarily safe for all age groups, but I didn’t write it, so don’t yell at me. Although, it’s pretty much describes me too…

 

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

