Dodgeball! (In Which If You Can Dodge A Wrench, You Can Dodge A Ball)

That title has nothing to do with anything. I mean, besides the fact that if you CAN dodge a wrench, I’m reasonably sure you can ALSO dodge a ball. I’m only keen to try it if I get to be the one doing the throwing, not the one doing the dodging.

I can’t say why, but I have not been able to get my fill of ’90s music recently. I mean all of it. I’m not proud of some of it, but it all reminds me of my teenage years and so I deem it to be acceptable now. Everything from Pearl Jam to Korn, Limp Bizkit to Hanson, Nirvana to The Spice Girls, Smashing Pumpkins to Will Smith.

I know what you’re thinking. No, really I do. It’s like I live inside your head. In case you didn’t know, I rent a room in there for weekends away. God knows it’s quiet in there.

Anyway, you’re thinking “You really dated yourself with all those music references from your teenage years.”

Half of you are thinking “You’re so OLD. Like, practically a mummy old. How are you still walking? How’s your hip?(That’s hilarious by the way)”

The other half of you are thinking “Good Lord, you’re so young. When I was a teenager we listened to the AM radio and owned our music on these round discs made out of vinyl with grooves in it. It really was very special, the bumps in the grooves caused a vibration in the needle which… What were we talking about?”

You know what else is a fantastic reminder of the ’90s? Weird Al Yankovic. Al kinds of fun parody songs of other awesome ’90s songs. then you get to hear the parody,which makes you want to listen to the original, and it’s TWICE the ’90s goodness.

Now that I’ve mocked all of you, young and old, and also mocked and dated myself, I think it’s time I left you to ponder on the wonderful music that was the ’90s.

Leave a comment with what you liked, if you wanna, so I can either join in the love, or mock you mercilessly.

-Christopher

P.S. Barbie Girl by Aqua was off the CHAIN!

 

P.P.S. Yes I just admitted to liking Aqua, and described it by using ‘off the chain’ which is both out of fashion, and an inappropriate descriptor for that particular group.

 

3 thoughts on “Dodgeball! (In Which If You Can Dodge A Wrench, You Can Dodge A Ball)

  1. Anything on The Buzz and Buzz Ballads (look ’em up) and definitely some boyband goodness (Hanson, BSB, ‘NSync), Bon Jovi (90’s), and really anything that was on MTV early in the morning.

  2. Pingback: A Crisis of Music | Inkling of Asylum

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

