DVR (In Which I Both Love And Hate My Television)

Let me start by saying how much I love my DVR.

I love my DVR.

The main reason I love it so much, is that I distinctly hate being beholden to a television schedule when I plan my week. I don’t care to have to concern myself with what is on TV and whether or not I can miss it.

I know missing a television show isn’t the end of the world, but I enjoy watching some thing that they happen to show on cable, in the evenings.

All that said, I very much like being able to set my magic cable to box to record the things I want to see, and then I don’t have to worry about whether or not I’m actually there to see those things. It makes me feel better about wanting to watch them all in the first place, because I’m not making any plans in regard to the TV programming schedule.

This is where I begin to hate my magic cable box.

I now have a list of things that I have to watch before they get deleted. I have days worth of shows I need to watch to remove them from my DVR list. I also now have to attempt to plan recordings like some sort of elaborate four-dimensional jigsaw puzzle because these shows exist in space AND time. While my actual TV watching has become more enjoyable, the process for planning to watch television is now infinitely more complicated.

Yes I understand that there are myriad ways around my particular hang ups with my magic TV delivering device, but if I solved all my problems, what would I complain about?

-Christopher

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

