Judgment (In Which I Judge All Of Us)

Here are some song lyrics I want you to read. You may have heard the song before. If you haven’t, I’d recommend you check it out.

“Man In Black” by Johnny Cash

Well, you wonder why I always dress in black,
Why you never see bright colors on my back,
And why does my appearance seem to have a somber tone.
Well, there’s a reason for the things that I have on.

I wear the black for the poor and the beaten down,
Livin’ in the hopeless, hungry side of town,
I wear it for the prisoner who has long paid for his crime,
But is there because he’s a victim of the times.

I wear the black for those who never read,
Or listened to the words that Jesus said,
About the road to happiness through love and charity,
Why, you’d think He’s talking straight to you and me.

Well, we’re doin’ mighty fine, I do suppose,
In our streak of lightnin’ cars and fancy clothes,
But just so we’re reminded of the ones who are held back,
Up front there ought ‘a be a Man In Black.

I wear it for the sick and lonely old,
For the reckless ones whose bad trip left them cold,
I wear the black in mournin’ for the lives that could have been,
Each week we lose a hundred fine young men.

And, I wear it for the thousands who have died,
Believen’ that the Lord was on their side,
I wear it for another hundred thousand who have died,
Believen’ that we all were on their side.

Well, there’s things that never will be right I know,
And things need changin’ everywhere you go,
But ’til we start to make a move to make a few things right,
You’ll never see me wear a suit of white.

Ah, I’d love to wear a rainbow every day,
And tell the world that everything’s OK,
But I’ll try to carry off a little darkness on my back,
‘Till things are brighter, I’m the Man In Black.

Now stop and think for a minute.

Ready?

I understand that there are a lot of people in the world you or I may not agree with. Maybe they made some bad choices, or maybe there’s a conflict of beliefs. There’s not really any way to agree with everyone.

Do most of us ever stop and think how judgmental we usually are about it? I fully include myself in this group, as I have plenty of tolerance for major life decisions like religion, but not a whole lot when it comes to minor things like footwear choice. (Don’t ask me why, it’s dark in my head and I’m scared to be in there alone)

I was listening to this song the other day and it got me thinking about how there are a lot of people who spend a lot of time being judged for something. Regardless of whether or not you think they might deserve it, it can’t be much fun.

Since Johnny Cash is no longer with us to be “The Man in Black” I thought I’d bring it back around,so at least he could be with us all in spirit. Wouldn’t it be nice every once in awhile to stop and think? There are a lot of things wrong in this world, and there are plenty of reasons for that.

That said, today or the next time you see something that makes you think”Geez,why can’t we just get our shit together?”, instead of blaming or judging someone, stop and think about how much nicer it would be if it were just better.

It would be a lot easier to fix some of those problems if we weren’t so worried about who’s fault it was, and just worked to make it better in whatever way we can.

-Christopher

Well, what kind of feeling do YOU get?

